Skip to content

Macon County Fireworks Permit Applications At County Clerk’s Office


     Macon County Fireworks permit applications, for locations outside of incorporated areas of Macon County, are available in the Macon County Clerk’s Office at the Macon County Office Building 141 S. Main, Room 104, Decatur. All county fireworks permits must be approved by the local fire protection district chief for the location where the fireworks will be displayed.

     Additionally, the permit is not valid until it is returned to the County Clerk’s Office for a signature and the Macon County Seal. The fee for a fireworks permit is $10.00. The applicant must show proof that they have completed the annual Consumer Fireworks Test, and provide proof of insurance in a sum not less than $1,000,000.

     Friday, June 16, 2023 is the last day the County Clerk’s Office will accept applications for displays to be held on July 4th. lf the fireworks will be displayed any day other than the 4th of July, a permit must be obtained 15 days prior to the date of the display.

     The Macon County Clerk’s Office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The office will be closed Monday, May 29th for Memorial Day and Monday June 19th for Juneteenth Independence Day.

Leave a Comment