For an hour before Dr. Ken Hendriksen escorted to the Boehm-Davis-Munn sidelines the 16 returning players for introductions, they exchanged stories from the times they wore the orange and blue uniforms of St. Teresa that led them to their 1979 state football championship with their impressive win over Amboy. After the reminisicing where some of the players looked like they could still hit and others not so much, they had a good time, especially with some family members on hand to share in the love the St. Teresa community was showering on them with the reception and pre-game introductions.

     Here are the 16 players introduced last Friday night Mike Sheehan, Mike Moran, Mike Regan,John Casselmann, Steve Niesman, Dan Hanson, Fred Baietto, Joe Moody, Tom Hayward, Tod Doyle, Thane Koning, Mark Laugery, Bernie Sharkey, Mike McNamara, Jon Brunner, and Bob Dixon. Head Coach Ralph McQuiggan and his assistant Terry Howley were there to talk about their 12-1 season. Mount Zion was the only team to beat the Bulldogs that season. Without question the cold weather kept the crowd down, but it was appreciative of their achievements with their loud applause as they were introduced individually.

     The 1979 state championship team was St. Teresa’s third in six seasons as the 1974 and 1975 teams did the same and they’ve been previously honored. Forty years passed awfully quickly for these young men.

Leave a Comment